Building Bridges Through Words: An Intercultural Experience that Brings Us Closer

29 Apr

By Myriam Ruiz, Professor, School of Communications, Universidad del Desarrollo

When I received the invitation to participate in the Coil, a project that connects journalism students from Santiago, Chile and English students from Ivy Tech Community College, I felt a mix of excitement and apprehension. It was the first time I had embarked on an initiative of this kind, and the idea of my students from Santiago de Chile communicating in English with their peers in Indianapolis filled me with both enthusiasm and fear.

The challenge was significant, both for my students and for me. I remember when I started speaking English, I was 16 years old and on an exchange program in a small town in Massachusetts called Plymouth. There, where the Mayflower arrived with its immigrants seeking freedom, I had the opportunity to immerse myself in American culture and understand its essence. I discovered that a friend in America is a friend for life.

I learned a lot during that experience, not just English but also the importance of intercultural communication. However, it is not the same to talk with friends as it is to teach classes in the university. The Coil gave me the opportunity to put my knowledge and skills into practice with two groups of young people with different backgrounds.

Throughout these months, we have learned a lot about our friends from Indianapolis. We have learned about their challenges, their motivations for continuing to study, and their fears as they face adulthood. And we have discovered that, in essence, their dreams, goals, and fears are very similar to those of our students in Chile.

This experience has allowed us to get to know each other better, to share our cultures, and to break down the barriers that sometimes separate us. It has shown us that life in other latitudes is not so different from ours here at the very south of the world, and that communication is the key to building bridges of understanding and friendship.

As we conclude this project, I can only thank Professor Gerald Maki and his team for their enthusiasm and dedication. I would also like to thank the Ivy Tech students for opening their hearts and sharing their stories with us. And, of course, to my own students for their effort, talent, and commitment.

They have shown that a good journalist must not only be fluent in the language but also be a good listener, capable of understanding and transmitting the stories of others. This experience has been enriching for all of us, and we hope to have been a good partner for Ivy Tech.

When you come to Chile, know that you have a home at the Universidad del Desarrollo. You will always have friends at the School of Communications.

Leave a comment