Bloomington Student Announces as 2024-2025 Division III International Vice President

17 Apr

All my life, I’ve been a dreamer. I dreamed of what lay beyond the shores of my island, Trinidad and Tobago. I dreamed of those concrete jungles where dreams are made, according to Alicia Keys. While dreaming came easily, I found myself tethered to the shadows, afraid of the unknown. Within the safety of my cocoon, I found comfort, security, and solace. But deep down, I knew I couldn’t remain there forever.

Britney in Trinidad.

In 2022, I made a choice, and it was time to turn these dreams into reality. I got a one-way ticket to Indiana and let me be real with you, it was daunting. Leaving behind my family and the familiarity of everything I’d ever known was not easy. This journey marked the beginning of a new chapter, one with pages yet unwritten.

That leap was my moment to breathe life into my dreams, to push beyond the boundaries that confined me. 2022 marked the start of many events that have led me to where I am today, the start of community college and the start of my journey with Phi Theta Kappa (PTK).

In these past two years, I’ve embraced every chance to expand my horizons and challenge myself. Amidst the uncertainty of navigating this new chapter in my life, PTK appeared like a guiding light, offering me direction and support. When I finally embraced the call to leadership, it was my college (Ivy Tech Community College – Bloomington) that provided the invaluable mentorship I needed to flourish. I wouldn’t have run for International Office if it wasn’t for my advisors who saw this untapped potential within me to do great things. I was blinded by my fears and self-doubts to recognize that potential within myself.

This journey has been more than a mere campaign; it’s been transformative. I recognize the profound influence that PTK has had on my personal and professional growth. I am deeply grateful for the opportunities it has afforded me, and I am committed to giving back to our vibrant PTK community and inspiring those who are yet to embark on their journey. With each step, I am reminded of the invaluable lessons learned and the skills honed. I believe that it’s in these moments of discomfort and uncertainty that true growth flourishes, and I am determined to emerge stronger, wiser, and better equipped to tackle whatever the future may hold.

I hope that my journey serves as a beacon of hope, illuminating the truth that our origins and circumstances need not define our potential. Regardless of where life plants us, or the challenges we face along the way, we harbor within us the capacity for greatness. It’s the unwavering belief in ourselves, the faith that we possess the power to overcome, that truly propels us towards extraordinary feats.

Photo from the night Britney was announced as the new Division III VP.

I am beyond honored to serve as the 2024-2025 Division III International Vice President. It warms my heart that I can bring back this title to my college (Ivy Tech Community College- Bloomington) in remembrance of James Hamric who served as North Central Vice President in 1999-2000. But also for my Indiana Region where Ryan Austin Palmore (Ivy Tech Community College – Gary) last served in 2012-2013. 

“Community is much more than belonging to something; it’s about doing something together that makes belonging matter.” – Brian Solis

Article by Britney Khan

Student | Ivy Tech Community College Bloomington

Co-president | Phi Theta Kappa – Alpha Rho Sigma

Leave a comment